She Needs a Name

So this morning I was woke up by Mom telling me to get in gear we have a baby on the ground.  Mom was trying to get to work and I was being lazy.  Ms. Zebu however, had other ideas.

So this morning Mom left me sleeping and headed to work.  As she drove up the road to take the back way to her job she noticed a bit of fussing in our pasture.  Ms. Zebu was holding off her other baby from last year and there was a little white baby on the ground.  She got on the phone and gave me a call.

She ordered me to get dressed and saddled and get to the pasture.  When I got there This is what I found. 39603342_1774149809287464_2948060591287173120_o

Ms. Zebu has just dropped her afterbirth and she now has a baby girl by her side.  I took them to a pen and fed Ms. Zebu and gave them some quiet time for bonding.  If all goes well they will go back out on the pasture after the rain passes and they have had time to love each other.

In the mean time … I know it is getting harder to do but we really need a gemstone girl name.  After this we only have B’Day to calve out and two possible fall bred merinos (Fluffy and Nina) to lamb out.  That means we are down to the last of it.  And Next year I promise we will have so many possibilities for names it will be easy … If you didn’t watch the podcast I guess I will post about our plan in the next few days and let everyone in on it.

For now Please Post Unused Gemstone Girl names here or on the Facebook post or even just email me at rj@barnontheweb.com

 

Leave a comment