Storm is passing

It was kind of a rough Monday. Mom stayed up all night keeping the fire going and staying with Milano. She had taken a turn for the worst and we were tube feeding her to see if she improved. Mom stayed up all through the night until Dad got up to get ready for work. When he left for work he got me up and I stayed up until about 4:30am. At that time everything was unchanged so I went off to get a nap. When Mom got up at 6am she found that Milano had passed.

We spent the rest of the day making sure that The calf was doing okay. Feeding and Watering took most of my time. By the time I would get the calf done it would be time to feed and water Twix and the babies … then it was time for pasture checks.

About half way through the after noon, while I was on one of my many pasture checks, I came in and found Mom with a death grip on twix with her pinned to the side panel of the stall with the Biscotti and Spritz nursing happily. I started to say something but Mom looked up and said “Not a word, we are having a come to Jesus Meeting. I am tired and she will let them nurse!” After the babies were done. Mom took them out of the pen and gave Twix a treat. She fussed a bit but was happy with her snack. This happened a couple more times through out the day. Each time after the lambs would suck on Twix Mom would top their bellies off with a bottle if they needed it.

After Dad got home He helped me take Twix out for a bit and get the calf up.


After we got him up we moved him back out to the barn and he is now in a section of the man pen with plenty of food, hay and water. He is going to be just fine and I am very happy about that.

This evening brought some more great news in the form of Twix … We Moved her out to clean the pen. When we brought her back in Mom got ready to do her wrestling match with her. She put the babies in the pen and tried to get a hold of Twix but Twix stood perfectly still and let the babies nurse all by herself. Then the babies stayed with her. She didn’t hit them or push or pull away.



Mom is going to take the babies out of the pen and keep them seperate for the night so that we all can get a good nights sleep. Then tomorrow we will work on getting them to be able to safely stay with Twix forever …

About young shepherd

When I was six years old my parents moved from the small town we lived in to the house my Dad grew up in. This move has had its ups and downs. For the most part I like it. I am home educated because sometimes I have to keep very weird hours but I get to do things that other kids don't. My parents have turned the farm into a bottle baby farm and a place for rescue animals to come while on the road to recovery. We nurse anything that people bring us. Hurt, injured or just rejected by their Moms. We have done goats, sheep, calves, pigs, kittens and puppies. We raise whatever anybody brings us. I like it when we get new little ones in and I want to be in the action. I have spent the night in the barn many times. To me, it is kind of fun. We are now taking on having our own babies. This year we had our first live birth on the farm. In the early months of 2011 I entered a contest that was held by Juniper Moon Farms and won the First ever Juniper Moon Farm Young Shepherd Award. Along with the award I won a small flock of Angora Goats. Since then we have started a Fiber farm and added sheep and alpacas to our mix too. Not to mention the rescue animals that now call this farm home. In my spare time I like to calf rope and ride my horse, go hunting, fishing, or camp out at our pond. I am active in the local 4-H Program. I started a 4-H Poultry Club and with them I built a Community Chicken Coop. I have had my horse since Christmas of 2009 and I have broke him and trained him to Calf Rope, team rope and Goat tie in the rodeos. You can see all of his awards on My horse page but his true job is here on the farm as a working horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Storm is passing

  1. KateJonze says:

    Some moms just have to be shown how to do it! Fingers crossed for Twix and the babies.

Leave a Reply

