Pasture and Lamb check days

Today it was cold again. Mom and I worried about the lambs being on the pasture at night and the cold so I had one heat lamp going all night. We have two in the stalls where the jugs are but I only had one on as so far no one else has gone into labor.

That also means that I have been on pasture checks and lamb checks most of the day. Every few hours I made my rounds … I did take some time to take a few cute Pictures for you now that Macaroon and Meringue are all cleaned up. Check them out…

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

They are so sweet ….

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

And Snickers is never very far away …

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

But she doesn’t take them very far from the Stall yet … Mom says that is a good thing.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

In honor of Lambing season I have also put in place a discount in the shop… For 15% off everything but dyes products use the coupon SPRING15 at checkout … You can find the shop at http://www.etsy.com/shop/QTFarmshop Oh and don’t forget to wrap up the winter of knits projects and get them posted the last months prizes will be posted tomorrow and the big prize announced. Then March 8th it all comes to an end …

About young shepherd

When I was six years old my parents moved from the small town we lived in to the house my Dad grew up in. This move has had its ups and downs. For the most part I like it. I am home educated because sometimes I have to keep very weird hours but I get to do things that other kids don't. My parents have turned the farm into a bottle baby farm and a place for rescue animals to come while on the road to recovery. We nurse anything that people bring us. Hurt, injured or just rejected by their Moms. We have done goats, sheep, calves, pigs, kittens and puppies. We raise whatever anybody brings us. I like it when we get new little ones in and I want to be in the action. I have spent the night in the barn many times. To me, it is kind of fun. We are now taking on having our own babies. This year we had our first live birth on the farm. In the early months of 2011 I entered a contest that was held by Juniper Moon Farms and won the First ever Juniper Moon Farm Young Shepherd Award. Along with the award I won a small flock of Angora Goats. Since then we have started a Fiber farm and added sheep and alpacas to our mix too. Not to mention the rescue animals that now call this farm home. In my spare time I like to calf rope and ride my horse, go hunting, fishing, or camp out at our pond. I am active in the local 4-H Program. I started a 4-H Poultry Club and with them I built a Community Chicken Coop. I have had my horse since Christmas of 2009 and I have broke him and trained him to Calf Rope, team rope and Goat tie in the rodeos. You can see all of his awards on My horse page but his true job is here on the farm as a working horse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pasture and Lamb check days

  1. Yes Ma’am she is … she is the one that raised Quads last year…

  2. Looks like Snickers is a good mom. Yay!!

Leave a Reply

